Helpful Tips for Contacting Your Legislators

Be Prepared Before You Call

Write down any questions that you want to ask your legislator. Rehearse what you are going to say so that you will be ready when they answer the phone.

Make Sure You Are Calling the Correct Phone Number

There are several ways to find your legislator’s phone number:

  • Have your local Farm Bureau help you find the number.
  • The Legislative Action Center’s website can also be a great resource in finding your legislator’s phone number. Entering in your current mailing address will give you your legislator’s contact information.
  • Call the switchboard. The State of Illinois Switchboard is (217) 782-2000 and the U.S. Capitol Switchboard is (202) 224-3121.

Make Sure You Are Talking to the Right Person

Legislative staff members may answer the phone instead of the legislator, so make your call is brief and to the point. If you have more to say, you can ask to speak with the legislator’s aide who handles that issue.

Be Sure to Identify Yourself

When the legislative assistant answers the phone, give them your name and address, and indicate that you are one of his/her voting constituents.

Get to Your Point Quickly

When the person answers the phone, tell them that you would like to leave a short message for the legislator. For example: “I would like for you to tell Senator/Representative (Name) that I am in support/opposition of a House or Senate Bill (Bill number_____).”

Provide Reasons for Calling

Let them know right away your reason for calling. Ask them to pass a message to your legislator on why you support or do not support a particular bill.

Above All Else, Be Respectful

After you are finished, but before you hang up, be sure to thank the legislative aide that answered the phone for his or her time. Be polite. You will accomplish a lot more in a calm voice.

State of Illinois Officials

Representative Avery Bourne (R)
95th District


Springfield Office:
205A-N Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8071
(217) 782-1336 FAX

District Office:
301 N. Monroe
Litchfield, IL 62056
(217) 324-5200
(217) 324-5201 FAX

Email:[email protected]

Years served: February 2015 – Present

Committee assignments: Agriculture & Conservation; Consumer Protection; Counties & Townships; Transportation: Vehicles & Safety; Veterans’ Affairs.

Biography: Montgomery County native; graduate of Columbia College in Columbia, Missouri; law student, Washington University School of Law (Dean’s Fellowship Scholar); interned in the offices of Congressman John Shimkus and Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins (Running Start Star Fellow) and the office of Missouri State Senator Doug Libla.

Senator Andy Manar (D)
48th District


Springfield Office:
119A Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0228
(217) 557-3930 FAX

District Office:
115 N. Washington Street
P.O. Box 636
Bunker Hill, IL 62014
(618) 585-4848

Years served: February 2015 – Present

Committee assignments:Agriculture; Appropriations I; Appropriations II; Higher Education; Committee of the Whole; Executive Appointments (Vice-Chairperson); Education; Labor; Com. Oversight Medicaid Mang. Care.

Biography: Born November 15, 1975, in Bunker Hill; B.A. in History, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; past chairman of Macoupin County Board; married (wife, Trista), has three children.

Courtesy: Legislative Information System (

Governor Bruce Rauner (R)


Office of the Governor
207 State House
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0244

Office of the Governor
James R. Thompson Center
100 W. Randolph, 16-100
Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 814-2121

Federal Officials

U.S. Congressman Rodney Davis (R)
13th District


Washington, DC Office:
1740 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-2371
(202) 226-0791 FAX

Taylorville District Office:
108 E. Market
Taylorville, IL 62568
(217) 824-5117
(217) 824-5121

Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm

On the House Committee on Agriculture, Congressman Davis is chair of the Subcommittee on Biotechnology, Horticulture, and Research. Additionally, he serves on the Subcommittee on Commodity Exchanges, Energy, and Credit and on the Subcommittee on Nutrition.

On the House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure, Congressman Davis serves on the Subcommittee on Aviation, on the Subcommittee on Highways and Transit, and on the Subcommittee on Water Resources and Environment. Additionally, he serves on the Committee on House Administration.

Courtesy: U.S. Congressman Rodney Davis (

U.S. Senator Mark Kirk (R)


Washington, DC Office:
524 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-2854
(202) 228-4611 FAX

Springfield Office:
607 East Adams, Ste. 1520
Springfield, IL 62701
(217) 492-5089
(217) 492-5099 FAX


Senator Kirk currently serves on four Senate Committees: 1) Appropriations, 2) Banking, 3) HELP (Health, Education, Labor & Pensions), and 4) Aging. Senator Kirk is chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Military Construction and Veterans Affairs as well as the Banking Subcommittee on National Security and International Trade and Finance.

Courtesy: U.S. Senator Mark Kirk (

U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D)


Washington, DC Office:
711 Hart Senate Building
Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-2152
(202) 228-0400 FAX

Springfield Office:
525 S. 8th Street
Springfield, IL 62703
(217) 492-4062
(217) 492-4382 FAX

Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30am to 5:00pm

Senator Durbin serves on the following committees: Senate Appropriations Committee, the Rules Committee, and the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Courtesy: U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (